| Name | Position | |
| Barbara Bartley | Librarian | library@kvcc.me.edu |
| Stephen LaRochelle | Director of Library Services | library@kvcc.me.edu |
Reference Service
Research assistance is available to students, faculty, and staff for help with projects and questions, large or small. Not sure where to begin? Ask a librarian. Wish to learn more about available resources? Ask a librarian. Need help deciphering the mysteries of APA, AMA, or MLA citations? Visit, email, or call, and we will be glad to assist.
Information Literacy Instruction
The librarians conduct regular informational sessions for the entire classroom, per instructor request. All courses are supported. We will tailor coverage to meet the specific information literacy needs of the instructor. Interested faculty are encouraged to contact the library to set up a session.
Interlibrary Loan
Borrow materials from other libraries and have them delivered to KVCC, free of charge. The entire campus community is welcome to use interlibrary loan (ILL). Request ILLs within the state via MILS or MaineCat to order from: Maine public libraries of all sizes; from any University of Maine collection; and also from Colby, Bates, or Bowdoin. To extend your search beyond Maine, try WorldCat, and contact a librarian to place your request. Keep in mind that in addition to books and videos, the library will also obtain articles from any magazine, journal, or newspaper upon request.
Course Reserves
Instructors have the option of selecting books, articles, or videos – either from the library or personal collections – to be made available for mandatory and supplemental class assignments. Students usually check out this material for in-house use. Interested instructors may email or call the library to place items on course reserve.
Books-by-Mail
Books-by-mail is a service for online and distance students. The library will ship items from its collection to your home. Return packaging and postage are included. Email or call for more information.
Goal 1: Information Literacy
Educate the college community in accessing and evaluating information, in library research skills, in problem solving, and in critical thinking through a comprehensive information literacy program.
Overview
The library partners with faculty to offer instruction that enables students to become skilled in the use of information resources, to integrate this instruction throughout all levels of coursework across the curriculum, and to ensure its effectiveness through ongoing assessment.
The recent focus of the library’s information literacy instruction program has been on traditional, face-to-face instruction sessions. While hands-on workshops have been successful, there is a need for expanded instruction using additional modes of delivery. Delivering synchronous and asynchronous online instruction will provide the library with opportunities to reach our off-campus and online communities and will give librarians additional flexibility.
In addition to increasing contact with all students, the instruction program also seeks to provide continuous and systematic information literacy training and support to college faculty. By providing educational opportunities, research assignment guidance, and instructional materials, librarians can “teach the teachers” and help the college meet its information literacy, problem solving, and critical thinking outcomes.
| Actions/Activities | Key Partners | Assessment Measures | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1.1 Expand information literacy instruction for multiple modes of delivery | Librarians | 1.1.1 Number of online tutorials increased from 50 to 75 by 2020 | |
| 1.2 Explore the feasibility and effectiveness of embedding librarians into the classroom | Librarians Faculty Students |
1.2.1 Pilot study of embedded librarians in 3 test courses by 2018 | Done |
| 1.3 Create information literacy rubrics linked to the college’s general education outcomes | Librarians | 1.3.1 Rubrics distributed to faculty in print and online by 2019 | Done |
| 1.4 Improve existing library instruction aids | Librarians | 1.4.1 Printed handouts and guides 75 updated by 2018 1.4.2 Website and online support materials updated by 2019 |
Done Done |
| 1.5 Partner with faculty to develop streamlined and effective assessments of student information literacy learning | Librarians Faculty |
1.5.1 Information literacy assessments implemented in at least 1 course in each program by 2020 | |
| 1.6 Provide professional development for faculty and staff in information literacy | Librarians Faculty Staff |
1.6.1 In-person workshop developed at a rate of 1 per year by 2019 1.6.2 Online workshop developed at a rate of 1 per year by 2020 |
Done |
| 1.7 Provide discipline-specific information resource workshops | Librarians Faculty |
1.7.1 In-service training provided in 1 discipline per semester by 2020 (e.g., Trades, Allied Health, Liberal Studies) | |
| 1.8 Support program chairs in creating information literacy assignments | Librarians Faculty |
1.8.1 Assignments created for 1 program per semester by 2020 | |
| 1.9 Create learning objects for faculty to use in their courses | Librarians Faculty |
1.9.1 Learning objects created for 1 course per semester by 2020 (e.g., bibliography, resource list, presentation, audio, video, ebook, 3D print) | Done |
Goal 2: Collection Development/Management
Select, maintain and provide access to a collection of materials chosen for their currency and relevance to the academic curriculum and the educational needs of the college community.
Overview
The library collection supports our community college curriculum. Through good fiscal stewardship, the library maintains a current, relevant collection that serves students, faculty and staff in person and online. Collection development is based on proactive analysis of current and near-future needs of library users.
| Actions/Activities | Key Partners | Assessment Measures | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.1 Increase online resources to reflect changing research patterns and modify Collection Development Policy accordingly | Librarians Faculty Administration |
2.1.1 Number of online items increased from 150,00 to 200,000 by 2019 |
|
| 2.2 Implement on-demand, just-in-time collection development | Librarians Faculty Students |
2.2.1 Fulfillment rate of 98% achieved by 2018 2.2.2 Physical items turnaround time of 2 days by 2019 2.2.3 Online item turnaround time of 24 hours by 2020 |
Done Done Done |
| 2.3 Improve interlibrary loan process to expand access to content | Librarians Faculty Students |
2.3.1 Interlibrary loan fulfillment rate of 95% by 2020 |
|
| 2.4 Initiate trials of new or competing online resources | Librarians Faculty Students |
2.4.1 Number of database trials offered bi-annually to increase to 2 by 2019 | Done |
| 2.5 Decrease the size of the physical collection to reflect use and relevance | Librarians Faculty |
2.5.1 Number of physical shelves reduced from 22 to 2 by 2018 | Done |
| 2.6 Apply guidelines spelled out in Collection Development Policy to existing physical resources | Librarians Faculty |
2.6.1 Unused and dated items weeded at a rate of 5% per year by 2018 | Done |
| 2.7 Apply guidelines spelled out in Collection Development Policy to existing online resources | Librarians Faculty |
2.7.1 Least used online resources weeded at a rate of 1 every two years by 2020 | Done |
| 2.8 Determine sufficiency of budget support | Librarians Administration |
2.8.1 Library collections budget to fall within normal distribution as compared to peer institutions by 2020 (Source: ACRL) | |
|
2.9 Assure usefulness of information resources |
Librarians Faculty Students |
2.9.1 Number of searches to increase by 10% by 2020 2.9.2 Age of collections to average 10 years or less by 2020 2.9.3 Collection distribution spread equally among all subjects by 2020 |
Done Done Done |
| 2.10 Implement and access discovery service in order to provide single-search capability | Librarians Administration |
2.10.1 Discovery service to be implemented by 2018 | Done |
Goal 3: Staff
Maintain a library staff whose knowledge, skills and abilities evolve with the changing landscape of information and education, and support the library staff through continuing professional education opportunities.
Overview
Provide a level of library staffing that permits the librarians to attend meetings, develop new initiatives, collaborate with faculty, and participate more fully in campus-wide programs, and that provides coverage and budgeting to enable all library staff to engage in activities in support of their professional development.
| Actions/Activities | Key Partners | Assessment Measures | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3.1 Determine sufficiency of the number of librarians by comparing to peer institutions | Librarians Administration |
3.1.1 Staffing plan developed to raise library staff level so that it falls within 10% variance from the peer average by 2020 (Source: ACRL) | |
| 3.2 Implement a realistic staffing plan for the library which reflects the evolving scope of librarian responsibilities | Librarians Administration |
3.2.1 Adequate coverage to ensure 1 librarian present at each campus during all days that classes are held by 2020 3.2.2 Adequate coverage to ensure 1 librarian for every 3 embedded courses by 2020 |
|
| 3.3 Fund attendance at a professional conference for each librarian | Librarians Administration |
3.3.1 Conference attendance by each librarian funded at the rate of 1 per year by 2018 | |
| 3.4 Chronicle completed professional development activities in the library's fact book | Librarians | 3.4.1 Professional development activities noted in library fact book by 2018 |
Goal 4: Technology
Stay current in the changes of both the technology and the methodology required to provide excellent collections and reference service.
Overview
The format and content of information resources change constantly. The librarians are committed to acquiring the necessary skills to ensure that the College community receives the best service and the most up-to-date resources possible. Additionally, librarians provide the expertise and material support needed by faculty to enable the creation of information-rich, technology-based learning objects.
| Actions/Activities | Key Partners | Assessment Measures | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4.1 Implement mobile options for accessing library resources | Librarians | 4.1.1 All library collections reviewed annually to maximize mobile compatibility by 2020 | Done |
| 4.2 Implement mobile options for accessing library services | Librarians | 4.2.1 All library services reviewed annually to maximize mobile compatibility by 2018 | |
| 4.3 Provide access to 3D printing to all students and faculty | Librarians | 4.3.1 3D printer installed in a publicly-available space in Lunder by 2018 4.3.2 3D printer installed in a publicly-available space in Averill by 2019 |
Done Done |
| 4.4 Partner with faculty to integrate 3D printing into their courses | Librarians Faculty |
4.4.1 3D printing implemented in 1 program curriculum per year by 2020 | Done |
| 4.5 Develop a plan to circulate tablets to students | Librarians | 4.5.1 Tablets circulated to students by 2018 | Done |
| 4.6 Identify tools needed to develop a more robust and intuitive web interface | Librarians IT |
4.6.1 Enhanced website implemented by 2019 (LibGuides) | |
| 4.7 Partner with IT to remove barriers to efficient student access to and use of information technologies | Librarians IT |
4.7.1 Wireless printing implemented in both Learning Commons by 2020 4.7.2 AirDrop enabled on 1 iMac in each Learning Commons by 2018 4.7.3 Card-restricted access to Technology Lab installed by 2019 |
Done Done |
| 4.8 Develop interactive tablet-based kiosk system for students | Librarians IT |
4.8.1 Interactive tablet-based kiosk installed in Lunder by 2019 4.8.2 Interactive tablet-based kiosk installed in Averill by 2020 |
|
|
4.9 Integrate digital literacy into information literacy |
Librarians Faculty IT |
4.9.1 Digital literacy formally recognized by the Instructional Academic Computing Committee and the Educational Effectiveness Committee as a necessary prerequisite of information literacy by 2020 | |
|
4.10 Develop online tutorials for efficient use of tablets |
Librarians | 4.10.1 Online tablet tutorials for students developed at a rate of 1 per semester by 2018 4.10.2 Online tablet tutorials for faculty developed at a rate of 1 per semester by 2019 |
Done Done |
Goal 5: Outreach
Provide outreach to foster greater understanding of the library's role in student learning and greater use of the library and its resources.
Overview
Increased awareness of the great depth and breadth of collections and services ensures that studeents and faculty are able to take full advantage of library resources. It is necessary, therefore, for librarians to engage in ongoing branding and marketing efforts to ensure maximum use of these important resources.
| Actions/Activities | Key Partners | Assessment Measures | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5.1 Provide discipline-specific sessions for new and current employees | Librarians Faculty |
5.1.1 Provide an overview of library services for 1 discipline per semester by 2019 (e.g., Trades, Allied Health, Liberal Studies) | Done |
| 5.2 Develop library services overview for new college employees | Librarians Administration |
5.2.1 Implement library-module as part of on-boarding process for all new faculty and staff by 2018 | Done |
| 5.3 Electronically communicate with faculty to encourage information literacy infusion | Librarians Administration |
5.3.1 Faculty-wide email sent at least 1 time per semester by 2018 5.3.2 Discipline-specific email sent at least 1 time per semester by 2019 |
Done Done |
| 5.4 Explore new ways of communicating with students | Librarians | 5.4.1 Submit item to College FaceBook page at a rate of 1 per semester by 2019 5.4.2 Submit item to College TV at a rate of 1 per semester by 2020 |
|
| 5.5 Publicize faculty, staff, and student publications to promote scholarship and to share ideas | Librarians Faculty |
5.5.1 Ballyhoo articles, books, ebooks, videos, and other content both online and in print authored by college community members by 2019 | |
| 5.6 Promote library services via the KV Communique | Librarians | 5.6.1 Create 1 item for each issue of the KV Communique digital newsletter by 2019 |
Goal 6: Assessment
Continually assess and update library resources and services in response to technological advances and user expectations, and improve our patrons' experiences by attending and responding to user feedback and statistics.
Overview
Since there are so many options in sources and formats, there is a constantly growing pool of possible resources to choose from. However, a limited budget requires that constant assessment and reassessment be maintained to ensure the most relevant, cost-effective mix of information resources and services.
| Actions/Activities | Key Partners | Assessment Measures | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6.1 Develop assessments of student acquisition of information literacy skills | Librarians Faculty |
6.1.1 Assessments implemented in 1 discipline per year by 2018 (e.g., Trades, Allied Health, Liberal Studies) | Done |
| 6.2 Revise library staff structure to gain efficiencies and respond to changing academic needs | Librarians Administration |
6.2.1 Staff changes implemented by 2019 | Done |
| 6.3 Create a plan for ongoing assessment of student needs and satisfaction | Librarians Administration |
6.3.1 Feedback collected from CCSSE bi-annual survey by 2020 6.3.2 Feedback collected from students, via faculty, by 2019 |
Done Done |
| 6.4 Partner with faculty to adjust assignments to make assessment of information literacy easier | Librarians Faculty |
6.4.1 Offer to assist faculty with editing assignments at a rate of 1 per semester by 2019 (e.g., "Use 3 peer reviewed articles") | |
| 6.5 Determine sufficiency of resources by comparing to peer institutions | Librarians Administration |
6.5.1 Ensure that library expenses per student fall within 1 standard deviation from the norm of peer institutions by 2020 (Source: ACRL) |
| Current Year | Forward Next Year | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main campus | (Fall 2019) | (Fall 2020) | (Fall 2021) | (Fall 2022) | (Fall 2023) |
| Sessions embedded in a class | 18 | 24 | 22 | 22 | 25 |
| Free-standing sessions | 121 | 93 | 133 | 132 | 135 |
| Branch/other locations | |||||
| Sessions embedded in a class | 7 | 9 | 12 | 31 | 35 |
| Free-standing sessions | 110 | 64 | 103 | 140 | 145 |
| Online sessions | 77 | 233 | 201 | 210 | 225 |
